VF TUNER 1.2.9.9.7 Released

- Multiple new 3UR-FBE and 3UR-FE ECUs Supported
- Sequoia/LX/LC 3UR Support
- 2019 0CP70 0CP80 Tundra Full support
- Generation 2 Phase 5 ECU TCU Read And Flash Now Supported
- Generation 2 Phase 5 TCU Read and Upload Functionality
- Generation 2 Phase 5 TCU Brick Recovery Functionality
- Generation 2 Phase 5 ECU Brick Recovery Functionality - Update
- Resources folder (inside installation folder) includes Tuning PDFs - will be continually updated
- Tacoma 4.0L Manual Transmission 2009+ Support Updated
See more
See less

Clarification Question on ECU Codes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clarification Question on ECU Codes

I am new to this, so I apologize for this clarification. I've read my ECU and identified my 2021 Tacoma as 89663-04C20. Looking in the stock files, the only one available for the 2021 Tacoma is 89663-04C30 STOCK. My understanding is that I cannot put the 04C30 (or a variant like 04C31, 04C3x) tune onto my ECU and would need to use 04C20 (or 04C21, 04C2x - whatever they may come out with) tunes. Basically the next to last digit is important, but the last digit is just updates.

Is that correct? I'd like to confirm before I purchase the OVTune.

Side note for the VF Tuner Installation Guide pdf.... On page 21 it mentions that "If you get an error, this usually means the ECU is NOT possible to read the stock data and you must use the provided stock data." I found that a USB 3.0 port on the PC may cause interruption of the communication to the Tractix adapter under Windows 10 during the read ECU step which will also give a read error. Mine kept failing about 2/3rds of the way in but switching to a 2.0 port allowed me to complete the read without issue.

Originally posted by n3cr0shark View Post